Picasso and True Perc laying eggs- rookie help for hatchery setup

jlnielsen13

Hey RC,

So my Male Bali Aquarich Picasso and my female true Perc are regularly laying eggs. I decided to give raising clownfish a try and have ordered all the supplies needed from Reed Mariculture to be ready for the next batch- one will hatch tonight but I'm not ready for them. Although I have been maintaining reefs for 20 years I am a rookie when it comes to raising fry!

I figured I would start a thread of my journey and kindly ask for any tips and advice that you experienced reefers may have!

Here is a picture of the pair, my tank, and the hatchery I have set up so far. Lots of equipment coming in this week.

232323232%7Ffp83232%3Eydnjthgqubwsnrcgu7%3A48%3Enu%3D49%3A2%3E8%3B4%3E237%3EWSNRCG%3D43%3B%3B794967328nu0mrj

232323232%7Ffp53%3B66%3Enu%3D49%3A2%3E8%3B4%3E237%3EWSNRCG%3D3%3B93%3C987%3C9328nu0mrj

232323232%7Ffp83232%3Eydnjthgqubwsnrcgu82%3B5%3Enu%3D49%3A2%3E8%3B4%3E237%3EWSNRCG%3D44%3C237793%3A328nu0mrj

Thanks in advance for all the advice!

- JIM

gorgeous tank! following along since i'm interested in trying my hand at this in the not too distant future...

are you letting the eggs hatch in the display tank and then attempting to move over the babies?

gorgeous tank! following along since i'm interested in trying my hand at this in the not too distant future...

are you letting the eggs hatch in the display tank and then attempting to move over the babies?

I haven't decided yet so that's an excellent question that I will need to figure out!

I have two options- take out rock on hatch day and place it down in the fish room hatchery or try the flashlight method in the tank and hopefully the light attracts all the fry an I can scoop them up in a bucket??

The first batch hatched last night so I should be up and running by this Wednesday with rotifers. If they lay a new batch this week hopefully I will be good to go!

Thanks
JIM