Pond!

Tyem

Hello everybody! I am thinking about a small 100 gal saltwater pond. I am new to ponds and for now i am just thinking. What would be a list of things to get for a saltwater pond? I am planning if i do continue with this on stocking it with a moray of some sort for sure. Thanks everybody!

I am not sure where your location is but temperature control is going to be extremely critical, both heating and cooling.

What’s your plan to construct the pond? That will help figure out what equipment to use.

It will be in my basement. It will be a species only eel tank. It will be one of those like pools for kids that you see online (not inflatable one though).

Thanks!

It will be in my basement. It will be a species only eel tank. It will be one of those like pools for kids that you see online (not inflatable one though).

Thanks!
The ones that are PVC with a liner?

FWIW, not only do we have my reef tank, we also have a small pond in the backyard and an above ground pool. So, I should be able to help think through this with you as I have experience with all these;)

Okay, so it looks like a either a steel or resin frame with a vinyl liner. Home Depot's website says it's a steel frame but in the specs, it says it's a resin frame. If it's a steel frame (depending on how well it's powder coated or painted) there is some concern over rust from exposure to saltwater.

You'll definitely want to put some kind of padding under the pool to help insulate and buffer against any rocks you're going to put in there.

I can't find a reference to how thick their liners are but you might want to consider putting some pond liner down on the inside bottom of the pool to help ensure the liner doesn't get punctured.