The Reef is Dying - Almost Everywhere

vickiNaz

Moved On
I have been snorkeling actively for 15 years now and I have found that the reef around the world (southern and eastern carribean, mexico, etc) is dying. It is DYING. Anyone who says otherwise is lying. This hobby has destroyed the reef and the oceans. Anyone who has snorkeled in the Grand Caymans can tell you, the reef is like a desert. It is no longer a lush undersea reservatory of reef... It is a desert.

Now, conversely, in the hands of experienced reef keepers and propogaters, I would say that this becomes untrue. Still the quality of life makes me sad. The devestation we have caused is alarming.

There will be a time in our lifetimes when there is no more wild caught reef available for sale. I promise you all that. You will have read this note and said to yourselves, she was right.

Fish are another thing, but because so few reef fishes are capable of being bred in captivity, we have a long road ahead of us.

It's not the hobby causing the problems your observing. It's pollution, shipping, global warming, etc., but not collecting for the hobby. Especially not in the locations you mention.

Wild collection in certain areas is likely harming the reef. The Lion's Share of the damage is enviromental in the ways Bill discusses and probably ways we do not even know yet. Of course in many areas of the world if the reef was not profitable to collect coral for trade it would be harvested for the curio trade (likely the cause of more coral death than live collection but I don't know that for sure) or harvested for concrete.