Why should we keep fish in breeding condition

Paul B

Premium Member
I am in a writing mood and getting excited because tomorrow is Thanksgiving and I had a few ideas banging around in this bald head so I figured I would post some of them. I also see my name mentioned in a few places as the Paul b method of keeping fish healthy. But "my method" if there is such a thing won't work unless it is done correctly so don't blame me if your fish are croaking. By the way, this is all just my opinion and I am an electrician, not a marine biologist, rocket scientist, or rap singer.
I know I mentioned this fifty times but I am going to re iterate.
The first thing that I am sure we all know is that fish are slimy. There is a reason fish are slimy. Do fish want to be slimy? I don't know, do you want to be slimy? It would do us no good to be slimy unless we wanted to get into tight places. Actually, fish do that and I guess the slime helps with that but that is not the reason for the slime. Fish, unlike us, manufacture antibodies in a few places in their bodies and much of it is made in their slime glands. Slime is a great place to store antibodies because it completely covers a fish and as we know, it is sticky. Unfortunately for the fish, it does not cover their gills because that would prevent them from breathing but the gills have their own protection other than slime.
Eels are very slimy and I doubt they ever get sick, but I really don't know.
Anyway fish and humans have much better immune systems when they are pregnant. We do, well not me, I am a manly man, but females do as some human diseases either go away or get much better when they are pregnant. It's the body's way to protect the baby. I know that Multiple Sclorosis in humans gets much better while a woman is pregnant.
But i am not a woman doctor or any other kind of doctor, I am just a bald guy with a fish tank.