increasing prices on hard to keep fish

igot2gats

Deeeetroit Basketball!
Do you think prices should be raised on harder to keep fish such as Copperband Butterflys, Mandarins, Moorish Idols, etc., so that most people would have to think twice about buying them, thus a possible better survival rate? (Assuming only veteran reefers would buy a higher priced fish)...

Thoughts?

Prices are what the market will bear. If the price is too high then the fish won't sell and the stores won't carry them. I'm not sure how you propose to enforce "raising prices" on such fish.

I'm not sure, it was just a thought.

The reasoning behind this is so that newbies don't go out and buy a fish like a Mandarin that's $20 because it's fairly cheap, and colorful....obviously not knowing the difficulty of keeping it is / getting it to eat prepared foods.

It would be nearly impossible to do this, (I think) but it's more of a thought provoking kind of question in attempt to help the hobby out.

As a newbie I'm not sure higher prices would help to deter some from making ill fated purchases. Some people just buy a fish/coral before knowing its true requirements.
I personally do a fair bit of research before making any livestock buys. Actually has kept me from Mandarin and CBB purchases. I look into max size, min tank size, food needs, water parameters, etc. Some etailer sites show this info,some don't. Also I've been to several lfs. I prefer the ones where the staff asks " What size tank do you have.", "What's in there now?","How old is the setup?". I wish more stores did this to better advise buyers then just making a sale.

Education will help the uninformed but higher prices won't curb the irresponsible. There are just as many fools with access to funds as there are without.

I dont think it would make a difference ... most ppl like that dont care if they spend 1 dollar or 1K ..