"Less is More"

bassmjm

Howdy y'all!

So I'm pretty new to the hobby, and by new, I mean I've never had a marine tank. I do have a few years of experience, however, with freshwater tanks and I currently keep a 25 gallon planted tank.

For the past month or so, the saltwater bug has been nibblin' on my brain, and I've been doing a lot of research, reading, etc.. Also, I've been encouraged by a lot of you guys and your tanks and setups, so I've formed a pretty good idea of what I want: a 75 gallon reef. Not too big to maintain, not too small so as to eliminate too many stocking options.

First, however, since this thread is kind of serving as my introduction to the forum, a little about how I feel about saltwater critters. I think the ocean is awesome, and it definitely houses some of the most fascinating and beautiful life on the planet. Moreover, it's in danger (I'll spare you my politics), and reef keeping is a great way to educate people, besides learn more about this ecosystem and experience it firsthand. However, the most fascinating aspect of reef keeping to me is that by starting a reef inside a glass box, you're beginning an ecosystem. With live rock and live sand, you're literally taking a chunk of the ocean and the millions of organisms therein/thereon and giving them an opportunity to cohabitate and (hopefully) thrive. This is unlike freshwater setups in that the ecosystem created is vastly more diverse, and definitely more observable. As such, I'm incredibly fascinated with reef keeping and can't wait to begin!