manos'reef

manosdr

I live in Rethimnon Crete Greece and

I began my marine aquarium in January 2003 after 25 years occupation with various types of aquariums of fresh water, with big enthusiasm.
The aquarium was from glass with dimensions length 150 cm( 59 inc), depth 50 cm(19,7 inc) and height of 62 cm(24,4 inc).
The height of water is 54 cm (21,2 inc), that is to say total volume of water 405 litres(102 gal).
I placed tow big internal filters of Juwel Jumbo that is described below, because the aquarium is found in lounge and should because the aesthetics of space have
existed nothing obvious round the aquarium. Also was impossible because lack of space to be created sump/refurium.
I filled the aquarium with water in which I had put salt of Red Sea and after few days I put live sand with height 7 cm(2,75 inc).
After 15 days I began to place progressively live live rock, initially 50 kgr(110 lb) and progressively in 3 months I reached the 80 kgr(176 lb).
I studied enough how it should is placed the rock so that I create caves and openings in order to can the fishes and the others live be hidden but also exists
circulation of water and tried I do not create a lot of dead areas with null circulation of water.
PROFILE OF AQUARIUM
405 litres(102 gal) aquarium. Aquarium from glass 15 mm(0,59 inc) placed in the wall.
EQUIPMENT

CIRCULATION
Initially the circulation was from two internal filters 2000 l/h(500gal/h) and two pumps 300 g/h and 700 g/h respectively. Later I placed also other pumps behind the rock and front from this so that exists circulation round this so that I reach globally to have circulation 25 X water volume that is to say 2000 gal/h.
Finally they were placed 6 pumps in wavemaker Natural wave.

FILTRATION
Two filters Juwel Jumbo internally with pump each 250 gal/h the one (biological) with Siporax and blue sponges and the other (chemical) with phosphates-removal (Elimi-phos, Phosquard and Green-X) and active carbon Fluval.