RODI Questions

reefing102

Dulce et decorum est pro patria mori
Premium Member
Alright guys, gonna sound like a total newb when it comes to this but with RODI, I am. I currently have a spectrapure 90 gpd 4 stage. My current set up is incredibly basic. It’s connected directly to a spare washer hook up that I just turn on when I need and off when I don’t. The issue is this hook up is old and the ball valve (or whatever it is) no longer seals (resulting in a slow but steady leak), so water is constantly running through the RODI set up. Obviously this isn’t good for the filter media, so my question is, without replacing the old valve (it appears to be welded on as it’s metal (not copper, steel maybe?)

Is there away to leave the water running and then have it stop at a different valve (if that’s a thing?)

Or depending on the work involved, maybe try to automate it even more where I have a float valve in my RODI storage tank that some how automatically triggers it to fill and shut off when needed (without having the water run constantly?)

Thoughts? Confused? I don’t know, it’s late

Shane, can you give me some pics of your setup? One of the things in this hobby I AM good at is RODI😉

Oh, you don’t want the float valve in the water storage determining when it runs and not…TDS creep is a real thing.

There are no steel water lines. Rust. I am going to assume it is a copper line with a soldered on valve.
What you can do with zero skills depends. Is there room to place a new valve if you saw the old one off. You can get SharkBite valves you simply stick on a pipe. No soldering. You would have to shut the water off in the house. You need a clean section of pipe to install it.
or
Put a new valve past the one that is leaking. You can get push to connect valves that go into the plastic line to the RODI at HD

I learned to do plumbing early. Our first house had iron pipe and it would get holes and leak all the time. Also the lead water tank with the side arm burner.